Dual PSU PC system

 

8 GPU node with 4 x GTX295 double-gpu cards powered by dual Chieftec 850W PSUs

8 GPU node with 4 x GTX295 double-gpu cards powered by dual Chieftec 850W PSU's

 

 

So, why 2 PSU’s instead of 1 powerful?

Say, that we have to drive 4 x GeForce GTX295 cards ‘a  max 289 Watts. It’s combined load is  1360 W, including rest of the system (CPU, chipset, HDD, etc…). So, minimum requirement is 1400W PSU. But this is bad idea — PSU’s are efficient in 40-75% load range, in that range they meet 80Plus and other promises. At 90-100% load they get un-efficient, dissipate extra heat and get loud, fans are running at max speed. So, at 1360 W load we need 1800 W PSU to run it in sweet-spot. Here we have few serious issues: (1) they are not widely sold; (2) they are not cost efficient, cost per watt gets very high, eg 2 x 750 W PSU-s sell 50% less than 1 x 1500; (3) PSU’s with 4 pairs of 6-pin anf 8-pin PCI-E connectors are rare.

And how to run them synchroneusly 

One solution is to make cable. In that case You dont need to modify PSU cables and all remains original:

Dual PSU solution, master PSU, slave PSU remains original

Dual PSU solution, master PSU, slave PSU remains original

Second solution is to modify ONE psu cable to control other:

Using one of these solutions Master PSU controls Slave PSU, switches it on and off.

In my case I run:

Master PSU

  • System board
  • HDD
  • 2 x GTX 295

Slave PSU

  • 2 x GTX 295

Both PSU-s run cool and quiet and I can sleep well, knowing that I don’t push my system to limit.

9 Comments

  1. ok i have a question. what modifications you did ?

    I mean i can understand that you took the power wire (green) and the ground wire (black) and put them in a female 20 or 24 pin connector. and you connect second PSU’s male 20 or 24 pin connector to the modified female connector of first PSU. But question is will you place the wires in front of same color wires or you will do cross connecting ? like green of first PSU with black of second PSU and black with green.

    And one more question after doing all this the slave power supply will be the one which is not modified. am i right ?

  2. I think this is the one 80plus silver 1500W PSU, rebranded as silverstone: http://www.fudzilla.com/content/view/15004/1/

  3. Once I originally commented I clicked the -Notify me when new feedback are added- checkbox and now each time a remark is added I get four emails with the same comment. Is there any method youll be able to remove me from that service? Thanks!

  4. where to buy Premier and Stitched Italy jerseys ??…

    […]we adivce go to this website to see more about Italy jerseys and others. […]…

  5. I have been browsing the web more than 2 hours today, and this is the best article I’ve come across. I’m a article fiend so I’ve actually read a lot already.In my opinion, if all webmasters and bloggers made as good content as youhave, the net would bea lot more useful than ever before.

  6. Hi there! I know this is kinda off topic but I was wondering if you knew where I could get a captcha plugin for my
    comment form? I’m using the same blog platform as yours and I’m having difficulty finding one?
    Thanks a lot!

  7. Enfin t-oublis de dire un truc le streaming c’est MAL car il utilise Flash et au bout
    d’une heure de film en stream: charge processeur + 50.
    Non je n’incite pas à ça, j’incite à faire un geste ecologique pour la planete.

  8. Hi there, You have done an excellent job. I will certainly digg it and personally recommend to my friends. I’m confident they’ll be benefited from this web site.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

