Thermaltake ToughPower 1500 arrived

 

Thermaltake Toughpower 1500

Thermaltake Toughpower 1500

Thermaltake ToughPower 1500 arrived from PC-Planet Germany yesterday. I still have big question, what way to go (1) one 1500W PSU or (2) two 750W PSU-s per system.

Thermaltakes pro’s are that it relly has 4 x 6-pin and 4 x 8-pin PCI-E connectors ant itä’s ready to use out of the box. No need for molex to 6-pin adapters or 2 x 6-pin to 8-pin adapters whatsoever.

Packaging of Toughpower liiked very hi quality and also product itself from outside. I found very good insight review of the same PSU and it confirmed, that ToughPower 1500 is hi quality product also internally. Actually, its two 750 PSU-s combined in one case.

On 23.-th of Feb I receive GTX 295’s to build new 4 card rig. All the rest has been arrived now. If my new PSU doesn’t let me down, I really go for 1 PSU configuration in my rig.

9 Comments

  1. Two reviews under load:

    http://www.bit-tech.net/hardware/psus/2008/04/16/thermaltake_toughpower_1500w_w0171_psu/1

    http://www.pcper.com/article.php?aid=600&type=expert&pid=3

    Conclusion: Will work as rated but with hot spots and unacceptable ripple at high loads.

    Better reviews than I expected, but still shows risk of trying to put that many amps through one power supply.

    One other thought to consider beyond the cost of equipment. There were reports when the GTX 295 came out that it was a very limited edition “halo effect” card that NVIDIA was making to take back the #! crown from AMD. Availability given the repetitively low cost was better than I expected. (@ $500 you were ahead vs. 2x 260 card) However, like the 9800 X2, there now seems to be very few on the market.

    It looks like you will be OK, but given the rarity of your equipment, I would still go the belt and suspenders method myself.

  2. Thanks for Your comments. I’ve purchased also 2 Chieftec 750W PSU’s. They are twice cheaper combined than 1500W unit and may-be safer. Most probably I go to 2 PSU way in my 19″ rack solution, but I test also TT 1500 unit.

    Jaak

  3. Hi Jaak, was wondering do you plan on running a UPS for that four 295 rig/PSU? I’m building a multi 295 folding rig myself and still considering if I should spend 400 bucks on a quality 1200VA+ UPS or AVR….

  4. helo, i think better to buy 2x 850W PSU…

  5. Lian Li PC-X2000 Chassis can handle two PSU and 4x 395GTX….

  6. Lian Li PC-X2000 Chassis is really very nice case. But I need cheaper option. As I go for rack solution, I use open-air shelves lfrom Middle Atlantic.

    Jaak

  7. Most probably I will go to double 750w or 850w unit. It’s cheaper and safer.

    Jaak

  8. My machine still has not had any problems with power supply but I know I’m living on the edge.

    I’m still not clear on how to wire two power supplies, there is a lot of different information on the web, some of it uses ancient 300W PSUs for examples. I’m concerned about ground loops and making sure that the second PSU has proper functioning load.

    Jaak have you found good info for wiring two supplies together? Have you tried it yet?

    You will also see that two PSU on the Middle Atlantic shelf is going to be very tight.

    Jason

  9. Yes I have, I made test wiring and bought 2 pcs 750w Chieftec PSU-s for that. They are much smaller than 125 / 1500 W units. I have been busy lately and had no time for experimenting. Hopefully next weekend…

    Yes, Your 1250 is really on the edge, specially 12V rails. Main problems are reduced efficiency (80 plus is achieved at 600 Watts or so), highter temps (caused by un-efficiency) , highter noise (not an issue) and probability of stressing capacitors too much.

    I’ll report about my results later.


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

